top of page

The Dress that Turned a Million Heads

Not really, but this dress is possibly one of the greatest things to ever happen to me.

It all started with an invite to prom.

As a freshman in college, the idea might’ve seemed a little odd at first.

I myself, however, never actually attended either of my own high school’s proms, so suddenly I was presented the opportunity to dress to the nines just as I’d never gotten to.

The stereotypical frantic high school girl worrying about her perfect prom night, complete with the perfect hair to match the perfect dress and the shoes and the rest of the whole nonsense.

Quite clearly, this is why I never went to my prom in the first place.

From what I’ve learned through my own personal experience, the nights with the highest expectations are the ones with the most room to disappoint, and I don’t think I saw the necessity of stressing so ridiculously over one single night.

Also, $500 or $800 for one dress? That is a little more than this college girl on a budget can afford.

So with that being said, I browsed the Internet for a beautiful alternative.

While I don’t understand all the excess hype around the idea of prom, I most certainly am a girl who’d do just about anything for an excuse to step out in something suitable for a red carpet.

I found a few solid contenders on my short-lived but intense search for a dress that would spark something magical, but none seemed to be the perfect fit (both literally and figuratively).

It wasn’t until I stumbled upon this dress that suddenly I could hear my heart singing.

I was initially drawn in because it reminded me of a recent Dior gown I’d seen on the runway, with the bodysuit-esque shape showing under the mesh, and I always love to show a good bit of leg.

The gown is a mixture of black pleating and mesh combined with a beautiful floral and a bit of nude-toned mesh to hug every curve.

To call this dress show-stopping might be an understatement.

This dress was not only everything I never knew I was missing, but it was my better half.

Slip me into this Dior-inspired gown, and I am ready to conquer the entire world; these are the little things I appreciate in life.

Paired with a black, strappy heel and a nude lip, I was even approached by two strangers asking what the shoot was for – as in, I’m the model and they wanted to know what brand I was shooting for.

Enlightened, I thanked them, but had to bring the bad news that this actually just the prom I never got to have.

“Wear what makes you feel good” is something I continuously try to live by, and this look had me living on cloud nine, even if just for a moment.

To shop this style among other similar gowns, check out the designer where I purchased from, Bebe, on their website.

-C.M.

bottom of page