top of page

The Art of Mykonos Architecture

How the architectural design of the island stands out as an intricate form of art.

A perfect view of the sunset over the Aegean Sea from the front door of my villa, Room 342.

The island of Mykonos inherently sounds like a beautiful place; I can’t imagine anyone thinks of a Greek island as that of anything below stellar.

The beauty of it all, though, is hard to actually picture, let alone believe, even when you are seeing it in front of your very own eyes.

The postcard view from the just outside the back door to the resort reception.

The San Marco hotel stands as one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever visited, both in Greece and anywhere in the world.

Featuring luxurious private villas with classic Greek architecture and a view of the Aegean Sea around every corner, this spot is a sight to be seen.

While I made a conscious effort to explore the grounds of the hotel a bit, I found a few spots in particular that struck me as being something I could open my eyes to for the rest of my life.

The architecture at this resort, and Greece in general, is almost completely composed of bright white buildings with deep blue accents. The use of structured color and active symmetry makes for a very clean appearance of all the buildings together, making it very appealing to the eye of its visitors.

The architectural layout of the pool area features a perfect view of the Greek villas and mountains above, with the Aegean Sea (not pictured) behind me.

Now, I’m usually not much of a pool person – I’m the girl who spent her whole life growing up on boats and beaches with the ocean as my backyard, but the pool accommodations featured at the San Marco resort was one of the most unbelievable views I’d ever seen.

I wouldn’t know what else to call it besides art.

The pool is placed in such a way that it offers the least limiting views from a 360-degree angle. You can choose to either sit on the side nearest to the hotel bar and restaurant, with nothing but wide open sea and billowing mountains in front of you, or you may choose the opposing side, with the view featured above.

One of the many maze-like streets in Mykonos, featuring the classic contrast of blue and white.

Upon entering the actual heart of the town of Mykonos, that’s when things start to look like a scene out of a movie – perhaps Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants or Mamma Mia?

The streets are all lined in cobblestone, slimly turning every which way in between closely built white and blue buildings, ranging from everything to shops and restaurants to residential homes and apartments.

It feels quite like a maze once you’re in the middle of it all, but I couldn’t imagine a more beautiful place to get lost.

I’ve found the architecture is laid out in such a way that as long as you know where you are in reference to the water, you’ll be alright.

As well as the crisp blue and white, the central part of the town actually featured much more beautiful floral accents than I thought it would, most definitely adding to the artistic appeal of the city.

Floral accents can be found scattered all throughout the twists and turns of Mykonos.

Overall, the architecture of Mykonos seems to be very well aesthetically meshed.

Everyone looks coherent next to each other, which is very rare to find and has to take a lot of time, effort and preparation. The concept as a whole is something to be seen in person because it is absolutely breathtaking.

-C.M.

bottom of page